Vision

Zurich’s new address

With an urban atmosphere that is open to all, THE CIRCLE represents the logical next step for the airport's retail centres – over 150,000 passengers, commuters, visitors and employees frequent Zurich Airport every day. Drawing on the airport’s footfall and infrastructure, THE CIRCLE is a uniquely attractive business location.

«Look for yesterday’s busiest train terminals and you will find today’s great urban centers. Look for today’s busiest airports and you will find the great urban centers of tomorrow.»

John D. Kasarda
Delectable culinary pleasures

Delectable culinary pleasures

Unique brand experience

Unique brand experience

Innovative park concept

Innovative park concept

Exciting events

Exciting events

A whole new way of working

A whole new way of working

Perfectly connected with the world

As Switzerland’s foremost transport hub, Zurich Airport is a key economic driver with cross-border appeal. Well-known national and international companies appreciate the Greater Zurich Area as the perfect place to do business as its links to rail, road and motorway networks are second to none. The excellent transport links include international direct flights, intercity trains, a regional commuter rail service, plus the regional bus and tram network along with car parks and direct access to the motorway. This makes THE CIRCLE the best-connected location in the country.

Travel time in Minutes < 30 30-60 60-90 90-120 France Austria Italy Germany BASEL BERN LUZERN ZUG ZÜRICH Only 12 Minutes away from the center of Zurich
Vision

Sometimes a big idea fits on a small piece of paper

The design by architect Riken Yamamoto makes THE CIRCLE an element that links the airport and THE PARK. While the slightly inclined facade facing the airport reflects the curves of the terminal and is largely closed, it gracefully branches out and opens up on the other side.

Setting new standards

THE CIRCLE features a compact footprint of just 30,000 m². Heating and cooling needs will be met with energy stored in underground thermal storage units, while energy and water consumption will be minimised through energy recovery. The photovoltaic installation on the roof of the building harnesses another source of natural energy.

LEED® certification

LEED® certification

The Leadership Energy and Environmental Design standard was developed by the US Green Building Council and stipulates seven criteria: sustainable construction, water efficiency, energy and atmosphere, materials and resources, indoor environmental quality, location and development plus innovation. A maximum of 110 points are awarded in the evaluation – THE CIRCLE will be certified to the highest standard, LEED® PLATINUM.

MINERGIE certification

MINERGIE certification

Minergie is a Swiss construction standard for new builds and renovated buildings. The focus is on living and working comfort – made possible by a high-quality building envelope and systematic ventilation. Minergie buildings are also characterised by very low energy requirements and a significant proportion of renewable energies.

Strong foundations

The implementation of Switzerland’s biggest construction project calls for reliable partners. As both investor and client, THE CIRCLE is being built as part of a co-ownership structure: Flughafen Zürich AG holds 51 % and Swiss Life AG 49 %.

FZAGSwissLife

Webcam

Switzerland's biggest construction project

Following six years of project development, marketing and planning, construction work began on 5 January 2015. See how Zurich’s new destination is growing day by day.

Webcam

Vision

Zürichs neue Adresse

Urban, atmosphärisch und offen für alle: THE CIRCLE steht für eine konsequente Weiterentwicklung der kommerziellen Zentren des Flughafens – über 150.000 Passagiere, Pendler, Besucher und Mitarbeiter bewegen sich täglich am Flughafen Zürich. Eingebettet in dessen Frequenzen und Infrastruktur profitiert THE CIRCLE von einem einzigartigen Standortvorteil.

«Look for yesterday’s busiest train terminals and you will find today’s great urban centers. Look for today’s busiest airports and you will find the great urban centers of tomorrow.»

John D. Kasarda
Faszinierender Hochgenuss

Faszinierender Hochgenuss

Einmalige Brand Experience

Einmalige Brand Experience

Innovatives Parkkonzept

Innovatives Parkkonzept

Begeisternde Events

Begeisternde Events

Eine neue Art zu arbeiten

Eine neue Art zu arbeiten

Perfekt verbunden mit der Welt

Der Flughafen Zürich ist die Verkehrsdrehscheibe der Schweiz und wichtiger Wirtschaftsmotor mit grenzüberschreitender Bedeutung – renommierte Unternehmen von nationalem und internationalem Rang schätzen den Grossraum Zürich als Standortvorteil. Einmalig ist die Anbindung an das Bahn-, Strassen- und Autobahnnetz: Internationale Direktflüge, Intercity-Züge, die S-Bahn, das Zentrum des regionalen Bus- und Tramnetzes, der Autobahnanschluss und Parkplätze gewähren ein Optimum an verkehrstechnischer Vernetzung. Das macht THE CIRCLE zum besterschlossenen Ort des Landes.

Reisezeit in Minuten < 30 30-60 60-90 90-120 Frankreich Österreich Italien Deutschland BASEL BERN LUZERN ZUG ZÜRICH Nur 12 Minuten Fahrzeit zum Stadtzentrum von Zürich
Vision

Eine grosse Idee passt manchmal auf ein kleines Stück Papier

Die Gestaltung des Architekten Riken Yamamoto macht THE CIRCLE zum verbindenden Element von Flughafen und THE PARK. Während die zum Flughafen gerichtete, leicht geneigte Fassade die Krümmung der Terminals aufnimmt und mehrheitlich geschlossen ist, öffnet sie sich zur Grünfläche hin.

Neue Massstäbe setzen

THE CIRCLE steht für eine verdichtete Bauweise mit nur 30.000 m² Bodennutzung. Die Versorgung mit Wärme und Kälte erfolgt über die Erde als Speicher – der Bedarf an Energie und Wasser wird durch Rückgewinnung stark reduziert. Eine weitere natürliche Energiequelle: die Photovoltaikanlage auf dem Dach des Gebäudeareals.

LEED®-Zertifizierung

LEED®-Zertifizierung

Leadership Energy and Environmental Design wurde vom US Green Building Council entwickelt und unterliegt sieben Kriterien: nachhaltiges Bauen, Wassereinsparung, Energie und Atmosphäre, Material und Ressourcen, Komfort und Raumqualität, Lage und Erschliessung sowie Innovation. Zur Bewertung werden maximal 110 Punkte vergeben – THE CIRCLE wird nach dem höchsten Standard LEED® PLATINUM zertifiziert.

MINERGIE-Zertifizierung

MINERGIE-Zertifizierung

Minergie ist ein Schweizer Baustandard für neue und modernisierte Gebäude. Im Zentrum steht der Wohn- und Arbeitskomfort – ermöglicht durch eine hochwertige Gebäudehülle und eine systematische Lufterneuerung. Minergie-Bauten zeichnen sich zudem durch einen sehr geringen Energiebedarf und einen hohen Anteil an erneuerbaren Energien aus.

EIN STARKES FUNDAMENT

Zur Umsetzung des derzeit grössten Bauprojekts der Schweiz braucht es verlässliche Partner. Gemeinsam als Investor und Bauherr wird THE CIRCLE im Rahmen einer Miteigentümergemeinschaft realisiert: Die Flughafen Zürich AG ist dabei mit 51 % beteiligt, die Swiss Life AG mit 49 %.

FZAGSwissLife

Webcam

Das grösste Hochbau-Projekt der Schweiz

Nach sechs Jahren Projektentwicklung, Vermarktung und Planung haben am 5. Januar 2015 die Bauarbeiten begonnen. Erleben Sie hier, wie Zürichs neue Destination täglich wächst.

Webcam